top of page

My thoughts about living with Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI) & what my children know

(Chapter 12 Navigating Relationships While Living with a Memory Impairment in my book)

When it comes to my three grown children ages twenty-seven, thirty-one, and thirty-five, they only know my difficulties if it affects them. For instance, my daughter and I will have a phone conversation and a few days later, when we talk again sometimes, I will have little to no recollection of the conversation with her. She has asked me why I can remember things from thirty or more years ago but I sometimes can't remember something a few days ago. I told her that is because my long-term memory is still mostly good and that MCI mostly affects my short-term memory. I think that I have told my children about the social media support groups that I'm on, but then again, I might not have told them. I don't think that they know about my blog/website, youtube channel, poems or that I'm working on putting everything together to publish a book! I have chosen not to share any of this with them. I think, at this point, if I do get a book published, then I will hand it to them and show them what I have been done.


I think that the reason that I choose not to share my daily struggles with them is because I don't want them to worry about me. I do a lot of journaling so I feel that if I'm declining, I will probably recognize that this is happening. If it continues, I can call my neurologist and talk to him about it.



Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page