top of page

What happens if you were diagnosed with a memory impairment and all you can do is think negatively?

April 28, 2021

I always believe in the power of a positive attitude. If you are always feeling negative, that is not helping you. If you are concerned about increased MCI symptoms or some new symptoms, I would call your doctor and voice your concerns. Sometimes it is difficult to think about how challenging it is to do some of the things that weren’t challenging before. I think that accepting the diagnosis and figuring out how to deal with the symptoms is very important. Lowering your stress should also be a priority. I think that if doing something now makes you frustrated, then it might be time to not try to do it for a while.


I think that you have to try not to think about the “what ifs”. What if MCI progresses to dementia? What if I can no longer enjoy reading a book? What if I have to stop driving? I try not to think about the "what ifs" because it is a waste of my time. I'm too busy living my life. I have been there and done that and it took me down a really dark road. I like to avoid going there again.


I’m not saying that things aren’t difficult for you, but unfortunately, we can’t fix our brains. What we can do is be aware of how we react to the challenges of living with a memory impairment. I think that the way we react to things that aren’t going so well makes all the difference in the world.


I would also check with your doctor and make sure that you aren’t depressed. That could be responsible for a lot of your negative thoughts. Last but not least, we are all here for each other.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page