top of page

Can someone with a mild cognitive impairment diagnosis get approved for disability?

(Chapter 17 Working while living with a memory impairment in my book)

In November 2015, I was approved for social security disability. I do know that they based their decision on medical records from my primary care physician, neurologist and orthopedic surgeon. I was approved within a few months, the first time that I applied. No problems at all. I had a very bad fall at my job, so injuries from that fall made me apply. In August 2014, I had left knee surgery and in Dec. 2014, I had left shoulder surgery. My knee is my main source of daily pain!


I know that if this fall had not happened in April 2014, soon after that, I would have had to talk to my neurologist about applying for social security disability. I was working two jobs, six days a week and the fog was happening almost every day. Some days, I was barely functioning! I know this because I tend to journal about my symptoms. Now, with me not working, the fog is only here occasionally. That is a very positive thing for me.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page