top of page

Realizing that sometimes how many lanes there are on a highway affects me


(Chapter 6 Living with a Memory Impairment in my book)

Realizing that sometimes how many lanes there are on a highway affects me

Today I drove from my home in New Hampshire to Massachusetts to visit my Mom. While I was driving there, I realized something that I hadn't noticed before now. The highway is only two lanes in New Hampshire, but in Massachusetts it is four lanes. I usually prefer to drive in the left-hand lane or the lane to the right of that lane. This is not just a habit for me but I guess in some way, it is less confusing and stressful for me!


When I drive in the left-hand lane, I mostly have to concentrate on what is happening in my lane and the lane just to the right of me. But if I drive in the 2nd to the left-hand lane, now I have three lanes to really deal with, the one I'm driving in and the lanes on either side of me. I don't think that before I had Mild Cognitive Impairment that this was a problem for me, but now I have realized that it is. Now it is much easier and less stress for me to drive in the very left-hand lane.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page