top of page

Sometimes remembering the feeling is enough

(Chapter 24 My Thoughts and Feelings in my book)

Today while I was sitting in church, I noticed that there were parts of the sermon that I didn't quite understand. I think that this will vary from one week to the next. I think that it was just some of the words, but as he kept talking, I think that I understood the basic message. It made me wonder when I leave church on Sundays, how long afterwards does the pastor's message stay with me? I'm not sure if I can remember much of what was said an hour after the service, but I do remember how it made me feel. So maybe that is what I need to focus on. I might not always remember the words, but sometimes, I will remember how the sermon made me feel.


The feeling that I had while I was in church today was about something that the pastor said that touched something in my heart and there were tears that I had to wipe away. I wished that I could remember, but that is not always so easy for me to do. I'm pretty sure that before the memory impairment symptoms and diagnosis that the message at church would stay with me a lot longer than it does now.


I know that the church has a website so maybe I could find the sermons on there and listen to them again to help me to remember. I would like the message that I'm getting at church to stay with me longer than it takes for me to drive home afterwards.


I have thought about taking notes but this can be challenging for me. It can be hard for me to focus on the speaker and try to write before I forget the words. That can be so frustrating!


UPDATE: One week later at church, I can remember some of what the sermon was about yesterday. It was about what words to use and not use when we talk to someone.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page