top of page

When did the fog roll in?

(Chapter 9 The Fog in my book)

Today I spent the day with my daughter and my seven-and-a-half-month-old twin granddaughters. Later in the afternoon after I arrived home, I couldn't understand the words that I was reading on a social media private message from a friend. I thought that might have been when the “fog” started rolling into my brain. But the more I thought about it, I remembered something that happened when I was with my daughter. I remember asking her when the babies have their next doctor's appointment. She said, “nine months” and I think that it took me a little time to comprehend what that meant. At first, I thought “in nine more months”. Then I thought, she must mean when the babies are nine months old. Luckily, I quietly figured it out by myself. I was so glad that I didn't have to ask her for clarification. I would have felt so stupid if I asked her and then got her response. So thankful that I was able to figure it out on my own.


I sure hate when the “fog” rolls in. I don't think that it is something that I will ever get used to but rather something that I have learned to accept. It is just part of living with MCI – mild cognitive impairment. There is nothing that I do to cause the fog, but rather it just happens. I think that sometimes I am much more aware that it has arrived than other times. I'm pretty sure that this time the fog lasted throughout the day, but it was off and on, not consistently a problem for me. Although I stated that nothing can “cause” the fog, I am pretty sure that too much stress does make my cognition much worse.


I know that when I was working two jobs, six days a week that I was having much more fog in my brain. The only reason that I know this is because I journal quite a bit. If I read through the journals dated before my fall at school on April 30, 2014 and compare them to now, there is quite a difference.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page