top of page

Challenges with my lack of comprehension

(Chapter 14 Comprehension Problems in my book)

Three months ago, I moved into another apartment and it is in a building with a laundry room. My old apartment had a washer and dryer right in my apartment so this is something new that I have had to get used to. It is $1.50 for each load either washer or dryer.


Very recently I went into the laundry room to do a couple of loads of laundry. I decided to use a front-loading washing machine. When I put the quarters in the top of the machine, I noticed that it only held $.75 rather than $1.50 and that confused me. Then I saw a note that read, “2 quarters per slot.” I know that the other machines take one quarter per slot, so this was different for me. For some reason, I thought that this meant that I put three quarters in, then push them in, then add three more. After trying this several times, I stood there and I read the sign again. Then I put two quarters each in the three slots. Now I was able to push it so that the quarters registered and the water started going into the washer.


I’m just so happy that there were no other residents in the laundry room while this was happening because I wouldn’t have felt so smart. I think that only one resident knows about my mild cognitive impairment diagnosis and right now that is the way that I want to keep it.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page