top of page

Being a senior companion & wishing that I had a better memory

(Chapter 24 My Thoughts and Feelings in my book)

Today I was spending time with a ninety-two-year-old blind lady. She asked me to take her to the mall to get some slippers and winter pajamas. Because she is blind, I put my right hand over my belly and she puts her arm in mine and holds onto me. I walk slow and stay right next to her, stopping when she says that she needs to rest. After reaching the ladies department, I asked the clerk where to find pajamas and slippers. They didn’t have any pajamas in her size so we went to find the slippers. It was a long walk from the door that we had come in. I found a bench for her to sit on.

She told me her size, color, and the brand that she liked. I found a few of them and I described them to her and I let her feel them. I also told her how much they cost. She tried on a pair and she really liked them. I told her that they were on sale for buy one pair get the second one for half price. She asked me to find her another pair, which I did. She handed me her credit card and I paid for the slippers for her. As I was checking out, I made a note of what it said above the exit door, “East Entrance.” I had her sit on the bench. I told her that I didn’t want her to do all that walking so I would move my vehicle near the door that was closest to the shoe department. She agreed that was a good idea.


My goal was to find my vehicle and park just outside this entrance. Now was the complicated part for me. I have little to no sense of direction, so I can get lost fairly easy. It has been a long time since I have shopped in this store, so I was unsure of the exact direction to walk in to find the door where my vehicle was parked. I walked back by the jewelry department one way and it didn’t look familiar to me. Because I have short term memory problems, I wasn’t sure that I could rely on that, but I had to do my best to find my vehicle. I decided to walk back a little way, then turn a different way. I saw a couple of exit doors, but I didn’t recognize it as where we started. I began to wonder how I was going to be able to do this. If I had been alone, I wouldn’t have been so stressed but someone was depending on me.


I found another exit and it read “East Entrance”. I just had to laugh at what I had just done. I guess we had made a circle when we walked around the store. I guess I hadn’t realized that. I went out the door and saw my vehicle. I put the slippers on the back seat. Then I moved my vehicle in front of the correct entrance. My next step was to find her and lead her back to my vehicle. I was so glad when she was safely sitting on my passenger’s seat and we were on our way out of the parking lot. Mission accomplished!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page