top of page

Mild cognitive impairment and grocery shopping

(Chapter 3 Memory Problems in my book)

If I don’t buy a certain food that often, it will probably be a problem when I buy it again. An example of this is one time I bought a small ham. I had no idea which ones I had tried and liked and which ones I didn’t like. This is definitely a problem for me but I have no clue how to solve it. When I buy something and there are a lot of choices, it makes it very difficult for me to choose one to buy, especially if it is something new for me. This has also happened to me when I’m at the deli counter buying ham or turkey etc. That is because if I haven’t bought it in a while, I can’t remember which one I like. This can cause confusion and stress! I tried notes to help me and I kept them on my refrigerator, but that became overwhelming so I threw them away. Now I definitely have no clue which ham or turkey to buy. I think that there are times when I just avoid buying these items because it causes too much confusion and stress!


There is one grocery store that I really love their ham. I put the name of the store and the name of the ham on a small sticky note. I put the sticky note in my purse on top of my driver's license. Now when I go to this store and I am wondering what kind of ham to buy, I can look at this sticky note. This has worked really well for me!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page