top of page

I'm not sure how I can prevent this from happening again!

Yesterday was a great day with my son Chris, his wife, my daughter Jenn, her husband and my three granddaughters. I took photos of my three granddaughters together and them with their parents in front of their beautiful Christmas tree. I took photos of the granddaughters opening their presents from me. I also took some photos of my son's new puppy.

It wasn't until this morning that I realized that I had forgotten to take some family photos. I forgot to take a picture of my son and his wife. I also forgot to have someone take a picture of my granddaughters and I.


I think that last Christmas I also forgot to take some photos that I meant to take. This makes me sad. I'm not really sure how I can prevent this from happening again. I can't believe that this is something that I have to write down in order to remind me.


There was also something else that happened that upset me. My family and I were all sitting in the living room of my daughter and her husband's home. Some people were on the couch and some were sitting on the hardwood floor. I was sitting on the floor next to my daughter and she had Keira sitting on the floor in front of her. I think that my daughter-in-n-law was also sitting with us. After a while my daughter got up and left the room. She left Keira sitting on the floor to the left of me. She asked me to keep an eye on Keira so that she didn't hurt herself. I told her that I would do that. Keira is almost six-months-old. She is pretty good at sitting up but sometimes she does fall over. After my daughter left the living room, I was talking to my daughter-in-law and I was keeping an eye on Keira. I thought about either picking Keira up and putting her in front of me or going to sit behind her. Then I got distracted by something or someone and I forgot about this. The next thing I know, Keira goes down on the floor. I picked her up immediately. She was crying and my daughter came from the other room to get her. I told her that I was sorry. I could tell that she was angry at me and I couldn't blame her because this was my fault. Then I heard her in the kitchen say something like, "I asked her to watch Keira so that she didn't get hurt." I was so upset by what happened to Keira and my daughter's words but I didn't say anything. Later my daughter seemed okay. When this first happened, I just wanted to grab my things, get in my car and go home.


Most of the time when I am with Keira we are in the playroom. The floor is covered with foam letters and numbers. If she falls over, she doesn't get hurt. I have never put Keira on the hardwood floors and I never would.


UPDATE: I decided to put a reminder on my cell phone calendar app. It is going to start on Christmas eve in 2021 and repeat each year on that date. I made a short list of photos that I don’t want to forget to take. Hopefully this will help me! Luckily on Christmas, my daughter-in-law posted a great photo of her and my son on social media. I made sure that I saved it to my computer.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page