top of page

My thoughts

I think that my first neurologist gave me the best advice. He said that if I didn't find ways of lowering my stress that my symptoms would continue to increase. I have found that to be very true for me. A little more than a year after my first and second diagnosis, I left my verbally and emotionally abusive husband. We are now divorced. I was told my first neurologist that my MCI was most likely caused by the many years of abuse. I didn't leave until after twenty-seven years of marriage.



I think that one of the things that are important is to not think about the "what ifs". What if my MCI progresses to dementia? I feel that it is just wasted energy for me to go there. I have accepted that I have a memory impairment. What I focus on is finding ways to deal with symptoms and ways of lowering them. Lowering my stress is one of those. I also know that the majority of people who are diagnosed with MCI never progress to dementia. Some actually improve. I think that having a positive attitude also helps me. It is also important to keep your brain active by doing puzzles or a craft.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page