top of page

Taking a class

June 19, 2019 (Chapter 21 Learning Something New in my book)

Note to self “Don't ever think about signing up for a Zentangle Class again!”

Every few months I get a pamphlet in the mail from a local hospital. It will have pages explaining different free classes that they are having in the upcoming months. I know that in the past I have signed up and attended writing classes that I really enjoyed. This time, there were no writing classes that were being offered, so I decided to sign up for a class called Zentangle. In the explanation it was described like this: “Looking for a way to unwind from stress, focus your thoughts, or even just explore your creative side? Learn the basics of Zentangle's creative and relaxing method of art. By using this easy-to-learn method of repetitive patterns and deliberate pen strokes.” I think that it also said something about using this to reduce stress.


When I arrived at the building, I was familiar with it because I remember that I had been there a few times before. I was able to find the elevator and take it to the designated floor on the paper. Then I just had to walk down several corridors that were well labeled so that I could find the correct room. I think that it was actually the same room that I attended the writing classes in.


After finding the correct room, I was directed to several empty seats and I chose one right near the door. It is more convenient to sit there just in case I need to make a quick exit. On the table in front of me, was a pencil, some special Zentangle black pen and something to help you blend. I have no idea what this blending tool was called. There was also a white paper with some empty squares on it. As she demonstrated each different shape, we were to use this to practice. On the table there was a heavy piece of white paper.


According to the explanation when I signed up, I thought this was a beginner's class so I thought that I would be okay. Instead, there were many different levels of what people knew so the class had some very intricate patterns.

It was difficult for me to figure out which way the lines went because it was a challenge to just understand the directions. A few times, the presenter showed me how to do it and I was able to understand and do it right and other times not so much. After we practiced each shape, we were supposed to copy it onto the large paper in the designated place. I was only able to do that with a couple of the shapes.


At some point, I thought to myself, “just hang in there, don't have a meltdown and embarrass yourself, this class will be over soon” The class was supposed to be for one and a half hours and I was now looking at my watch. It was just about the time that it should be over and we were still working. I decided that I had enough, so I put my water bottle in my bag, grabbed my purse and left the room. I left the supplies on the table, but took the papers that I had written on with me.


Luckily after leaving the class, I went down the correct hallways and I was able to navigate my way to the elevator. After getting on the elevator, I had to choose a floor. I knew from the paper that I was on the LL – lower level, so the only place to go was up. Do I go to G or first? That was a good question and I really had no clue. I decided to pick G, but when I got out of the elevator nothing looked familiar to me. I decided to get back in the elevator and go to the first floor. I was able to find my way out of the building and I found my vehicle in the parking lot. I guess that I didn't realize that when I attend these things, I really rely on following someone else from the class to find the elevator and correct floor. Since I left before the class was over, I had to figure things out on my own. Luckily, I was able to do that.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page